About Marakwet-east Constituency

Marakwet East Constituency is in Elgeyo Marakwet County, County No. 028. It is one of the four constituencies of Elgeyo-Marakwet County. The constituency is in the North rift region bordering four constituencies, namely Tiaty Constituency to the East, Kapenguria Constituency to the West, Pokot South Constituency to the North and Marakwet west to the South. Since independence the constituency has had four members of parliament. From 1963 to 1992, the constituency was known as Kerio North not to be confused with Keiyo North, a constituency in the former Keiyo district. The name was changed to Kerio East in 1992. In 1997, the constituency was renamed Marakwet East. Between 1992 and 2012, the constituency had eleven wards, all of which elected councilors for the defunct Marakwet County Council. However, after the promulgation of the new constitution, the constituency was subdivided into four wards: Embobut/Embolot, Endo, Kapyego, and Sambirir. The constituency covers a total area of 784.3 Km2. Kapyego ward has the largest area of 308.6 Km2 while Sambirir has the least area of 145.3 Km2. Kapyego and Embobut/Embolot wards have three locations each and seven and eight sub locations respectively covering 30.8.6 and 151.8 respectively. Endo and Sambirir has ten and seven locations with 23 and 19 sub locations respectively. It has up- coming small trading centers like Soko Bora in Tot division, Chesongoch in Chesongoch division among others.

Read More
about us

Access NG-CDF Information on your Mobile

Latest News

Do you have a Question regarding our constituency?

You can help us build a ‘Frequently Asked Qustions’ Section by just sending us your Questions. All Answered Questions will be available at the F.A.Qs section.